Achieving more together towards a safer South Wales

The Commissioner’s Team

The Police and Crime Commissioner, Alun Michael, is supported by a small team of officers, who assist in fulfilling his duties.

In November 2016 Emma Wools was appointed as Deputy Commissioner on secondment from the National Offender Management Service in Wales (NOMS), which was ratified by the South Wales Police and Crime Panel on the 18th October 2016. This appointment meets the legal requirement for this role and fills the gap left by the previous permanent Deputy Commissioner, Sophie Howe, who has become the first Future Generations Commissioner for Wales.

Three Assistant Commissioners are responsible for supporting the Commissioner and Deputy through their strategic alignment to the divisions of South Wales Police, including the corresponding Local Authorities and Public Service Boards:

  • Bonnie Navarra: Swansea & Neath Port Talbot
  • Mark Brace: Cardiff, the Vale of Glamorgan and Bridgend
  • Lee Jones: Merthyr & Rhondda Cynon Taf (Cwm Taf)

Senior Staff

Deputy Commissioner – Emma Wools

Chief of Staff – Cerith Thomas

Chief Finance Officer – Geoff Petty

Other Staff

  • Public Response/Complaints and Deputy Monitoring Officer x 1
  • Equalities & Social Justice Manager x 1
  • Victim Services Manager x 1
  • Victim Voice Co-ordinator x 1
  • Partnership Funding Officer x 1
  • Partnerships & Volunteer Manager x 1
  • Policy Leads x 4
  • Policy Support x 3
  • Analyst x 1
  • Staff Officers x 4
  • Personal Assistant’s/Administrative support x 5

Team Demographics (as at March 2017)

Total Staff: 28
Gender: Female – 18 Male – 10
Staff members with a disability: 0
Staff members from an ethnic minority background: 1